What defines a Criminal Record in Nevada?
A criminal record is as an official document that records a person’s criminal history. The information assembles updated local, county and state jurisdiction. Also trial courts, courts of appeals as well as county and state correctional facilities. The standard for criminal record collection and storage varies from county to county. The majority of Nevada criminal records are organized in online record depositories that are available to the public in the form of a Criminal Background Report. This report is accessed through a number of courts, police departments, and the official Missouri State Records Online Database. The amount of criminal records information presented on StateRecords.org will vary from person to person. Resources are used to collect information because different sources often have non-standardized state level protocols, storage classifications, requirements, organization and digitization processes. Criminal records in the state of Nevada generally include the following subjects:
Nevada Arrest Records
An arrest record is an official document providing information about a person questioned, apprehended, or taken into custody. They are placed in detention, held for investigation and/or charged with, indicted or tried for any felony, misdemeanor or other offense by any law enforcement or military authority. In Nevada, a person can be arrested once they commit a misdemeanor amounting to as minor of an act as a breach of the peace or they commit a felony where there are reasonable grounds to believe they committed the crime.
Nevada Arrest Warrants
An arrest warrant is an official document signed and issued by a judge or magistrate on behalf of the local and state jurisdictions. This authorizes a police officer to arrest or detain the person or people named in the warrant or to search and seize the individual’s property. In Nevada, the police can arrest a person for committing a crime even without a warrant; in most cases, it is when the person commits the crime in an officer’s presence, http://law.justia.com/codes/nevada/2010/title14/chapter171/nrs171-136.html
. The arrest warrant signed by the judge should have the full information about the offender and the crime.
A misdemeanor is a non-indictable offense and is generally less severe than felonies. Like felonies, a misdemeanor charge is categorized by a number-based system designed to describe the severity of the alleged crime. Misdemeanor crimes usually are distinguished from felonies by the seriousness of injury caused to another person, the cash value of the property taken, or a number of drugs in a person’s possession and whether there is proof of intent to sell or distribute the drugs. In Nevada, misdemeanors are categorized as gross misdemeanors (more serious crimes, but not felonies) and misdemeanors (less serious crimes), http://misdemeanorguide.com/Nevada-misdemeanor.php
. Some examples of gross misdemeanor crimes in Nevada are stalking without the use of the internet, indecent exposure, crimes against government property (resulting in damage between $250 and $5,000), and carrying a concealed weapon (first offense). Misdemeanors in Nevada can include assault without a deadly weapon, battery without a deadly weapon, driving under the influence (first offense), prostitution, and petit larceny (shoplifting an item or items valued at less than $650).
A felony offense is a criminal conviction with a maximum sentence of more than 1 year. It is to be served in a county jail or state prison. In some cases, a felony conviction can even be punished by death. In Nevada, felonies are serious crimes that are punishable by more than one year in prison. Nevada law organizes felonies into categories from Category A felonies to Category E felonies, http://felonyguide.com/Nevada-Felony.php
. Category A felonies are the more serious felonies in Nevada and Category E felonies are the least serious. A Category A felony in Nevada is punishable by: the death penalty, life in prison without parole, or life in prison with a possibility of parole. The penalty diminishes as so a Category E felony is punished from 1 year to 4 years.
Nevada Sex Offender Listing
A sex offender listing is a registry of persons convicted of committing a sex crime that is often accessible by the public. In most cases, jurisdictions compile their laws into sections, such as traffic, assault and sexual. Judges are given discretion as to whether they need registration for crimes besides the charges listed under the sex offender registration law, http://www.nvsexoffenders.gov/
. A judge may order an adult to register as a sex offender if the crime involves sexual motivation. Nevada is known for legally sanctioning prostitution, but that doesn't mean that it takes non-consensual sexual relations lightly. Sex accomplished by force or fear may even carry a penalty of life in prison if the victim suffers an injury.
Nevada Serious Traffic Violation
A serious traffic violation tends to involve willful disregard for public safety, death, serious bodily injury, damage to property and multiple minor traffic violations. Traffic fines in Nevada vary by court. When you're convicted of a traffic violation, the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles will add demerit points to your driving record. If you accumulate 12 points in 12 months, your NV driver's license will be suspended for 6 months but there is a possibility to complete a traffic school course.
Nevada Conviction Records
A conviction record is a document providing information that a person is found guilty, pleaded guilty or pleaded no contest to criminal charges in a civilian or military court. The criminal charges are classified as a felony, misdemeanor or other offense. Conviction also includes a person judged delinquent, and less than honorably discharged or placed on probation, fined, imprisoned or paroled. A criminal conviction is rendered by either a jury of peers or a judge in a court of law. A conviction does not include a final judgment deleted by a pardon, set aside, reversed or otherwise rendered inoperative.
Nevada Jail and Inmate Records
Jail and inmate records are official documents of information about a person’s current and sometimes past inmate status. A person who is in jail or considered an inmate is someone who deprived of their civil liberties. They are on trial for a crime or is serving, which maintains an inmate database that is often searchable online a prison sentence after being convicted of a crime. Most states have a Department of Corrections http://doc.nv.gov/
. These records often include the inmate’s name, incarceration date, expected a release date, convicted offense and sometimes photos.
Nevada Probation Records
Probation records are official documents that show when a person receives probation as an alternative to prison. Probation allows people convicted of crime in Nevada to serve their sentences out of custody, as long as they follow probation conditions imposed by the judge and probation officer https://www.leg.state.nv.us/nrs/NRS-176A.html
. Probation is issued in proportion to the crime, so the length and nature of probation differ (sometimes drastically) from case to case. Probation typically falls into three categories: minimally supervised, supervised and intensive – an intensive is a form of very strict probation that has conditions that vary from state to state but that emphasize punishment and control of the offender within the community.
Nevada Juvenile Criminal Records
A juvenile criminal record is an official record of information about criminal activity committed by children or adolescents who are not yet of legal adult age. Juveniles are not considered convicted of a crime like an adult but instead are found to be “adjudicated delinquent”. These criminal records are often mistakenly thought to be erased or expunged once a person becomes of legal adult age, but in fact, the record remains unless the person petitions to have it expunged. If a person was found adjudicated delinquent to a criminal offense, they do not have to respond “yes” if asked whether they have ever been convicted of a crime, unless the question specifically asks if they were ever adjudicated delinquent as well.
Nevada History and Accuracy of Criminal Records
The accuracy of the data of criminal records depends on the record keeping and technological capabilities of the jurisdiction where the record is assembled and later digitized. Nevada criminal records archives usually tend to go back as far as the 1970s. This is when criminal and arrest data started to be centralized and compiled into an organized database much like we use today. Accuracy was more commonly affected by human error in the past, but in the 1990s the quality and accuracy of record keeping improved exponentially due to the advent of the computer, so the information provides on StateRecords.org will vary from person to person.
Nevada Megan’s Law
Megan's Law is the term for state laws that create and keep up a sex offender registry, which provides information on registered sex offenders to the public. The first Megan's Law appeared after the rape and murder of 7-year-old New Jersey resident Megan Kanka by a sex offender who lived in the girl's own neighborhood. Soon after passage of this first Megan's Law, the federal government requires all states to set up sex offender registries and offer the public with information about those registered http://www.nvsexoffenders.gov/
. In addition to any prison sentence or fine, a person convicted of sexual battery or sexual assault in Nevada must register as a sex offender, (Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 179D.095.). Sex offender status limits where the offender may live, work, go to school, or even merely be present. The sex offender registry is accessible by employers, landlords, neighbors, schools, and the public. Registration lasts many years and follows the offender long after the offender has been released from prison